Gov. Udom Emmanuel  proscribes the activities of 65 cult groups in the state.

Akwa Ibom State Governor Udom Emmanuel has proscribed the activities of 65 cult groups in the state.

Speaking when he signed the Cultism and other Violent Behavior Prohibition Order, 2020, which comes into effect from yesterday March 16, Governor Emmanuel said the activities of the 65 cult, society or groups are prohibited and defaulters shall be prosecuted in accordance with the Cultism, Offensive Weapons and Violent Behavior Prohibition Law, 2004, or any other enabling law in that regard.

READ ALSO : The need to emphasize more on social orientation campaign

According to him, any cult, society or group by whatsoever name whose activities are found to be consistent with the activities of a cult shall be considered and treated as such under the Order, adding that the Cultism and Other Violent Behavior Prohibition Order, 2018 is revoked.

Government house correspondent Jane Uwa reports that some of the 65 cult groups in the state proscribed include Blood Suckers, Scorpion, Black Eye, Eyie, Sons of Nights, White Angels, Yellow Ribbon, Python, Black Sword, Supreme Dred Lock, Black Heart, Black Dagger, White Brothers, High Mafia, Street Mafia, Family Mafia, Supreme Red Skin, Italian Mafia, Separate Brothers Confraternity and Clansmen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.